People Moves

PCAOB board members Jurata and Zietsman to resign

The pair announced their intentions to resign from the PCAOB by 1 October, or the date of the appointment of new board members

Rebekah Goshorn Jurata and Megan Zietsman, both board members of the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (PCAOB), have released a joint statement announcing they are to step down from their positions with the association.

The pair announced their intentions to resign from the PCAOB by October 1, or the date of the appointment of new board members.

Both Jurata and Zietsman said it has been an “honor” to serve as board members of the PCAOB and a “privilege” to work alongside “dedicated staff to advance our important mission”. However, they added the decision comes after neither of them “applied to be considered by the commission for the board seats that we currently hold”.

The joint statement read: “We would like to express our sincere gratitude and appreciation to the staff of the PCAOB for their hard work and dedication. We are especially proud of the perseverance they have demonstrated during the past 18 months in adhering to our values and working to advance our mission, despite the ongoing global COVID-19 pandemic and the many challenges associated with it.

“Thanks to their efforts and adaptability, the PCAOB has been able to advance key initiatives and accomplish its statutory mandate in very challenging times. We remain fully committed to the mission and work of the PCAOB and our fiduciary duties as board members until we depart.”

They continued: “We will leave the PCAOB with pride at having been involved in significant efforts and accomplishments, and we have nothing but respect for the important work we know the staff will continue to perform.

“It has also been an honor for us to serve alongside one another – the first time the PCAOB has had two female board members. We want to extend our gratitude to our current and former board members with whom we have had the opportunity to work, and we wish much success to those that will succeed us.”

Back to top button