People Moves

IRS appoints new ETAAC members

The new appointees will all serve three-year terms on the committee beginning in September 2021

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) has appointed seven new members for the Electronic Tax Administration Advisory Committee (ETAAC).

Established by statute in 1998, the ETAAC is a public forum for the discussion of issues in electronic tax administration. The committee’s primary goal is to promote paperless filing of tax and information returns. ETAAC members work closely with the Security Summit, a joint effort of the IRS, state tax administrators and the nation’s tax industry to fight identity theft and refund fraud.

Committee members include state tax officials, consumer advocates, cybersecurity and information security specialists, tax preparers, tax software developers and representatives of the payroll and financial communities.

The new appointees will all serve three-year terms on the committee beginning in September 2021.

From the payroll industry joins James Paille, Ann Arbor, Michigan. He works for Thomson Reuters and has over 40 years of experience in the payroll industry, including front line, treasury and management experience. 

Tax professional Jihan Jude, Orlando, Florida also joins. He is currently an attorney and counselor at law with the Davey Law Group in Maitland, Florida. She previously worked with ComplyRight, where she focused on business employment tax compliance, information return reporting requirements from the IRS and Social Security Administration and labor law legal issues. 

In addition, there are five new appointees from state government: Peter Barca, Kenosha, Wisconsin; Vernon Barnett, Pike Road, Alabama; Mark Godfrey, Jefferson City, Missouri; Jonathan Lunardini, Loomis, California and Terri Steenblock, Forest Lake, Minnesota.

Barca is Secretary of the Wisconsin Department of Revenue and an active member and officer of the Federation of Tax Administrators Board of Trustees. He has served in the Wisconsin State Assembly, the United States House of Representatives and the United States Small Business Administration

Barnett has worked in state government for 25 years and served as a Deputy Solicitor General, Legal Advisor to the Governor, Deputy Commissioner of the Department of Corrections and Executive Counsel of the Department of Environmental Management. . He began his service as Commissioner of the Alabama Department of Revenue in May 2017. 

Prior to joining EY’s Digital Tax Administration – Government Services practice, Godfrey served as Taxation Division director at the Missouri Department of Revenue. 

Lunardini meanwhile is section manager of the California Franchise Tax Board’s (FTB) Identity Theft/Fraud Program. He has been a member of the Security Summit since its inception in 2015, and has participated in its Information Sharing, Authentication and Financial Services working groups.

Finally, Steenblock is compliance director at the Federation of Tax Administrators. She supports state revenue agencies across the United States by providing compliance outreach, education and support to tax administrators focused on audit, collections, criminal investigations, fraud and electronic filing. 

Back to top button